Golden Cylinder Awards

Click to view past award winners »

The 2018 Golden Cylinder Awards competition is now closed. Winners will be announced at the fall Technical Forum in Cincinnati, OH, during the October 10-11, 2018 event. 

Click here to download a fillable PDF version of the application

Click here to download a non-fillable PDF version of the application.

Please be sure to review the criteria for submitting your entries very carefully. The more thorough your application is the better your chances of winning.  Completing all the information truly helps the judges in their evaluation. Judging will take place in Spring 2018, and winners will be announced later in the year.

This competition is conducted annually to promote the gravure process and to provide peer recognition for technical achievement. The competition is designed to identify the “Best of the Best” in each segment of the industry and to distinguish technical innovations.

Winning a “Golden Cylinder” award is both an honor and an opportunity for you and your customer to achieve the peer recognition you so justly deserve. It increases your exposure in numerous graphic arts publications, promotes customer relations, provides tools to your sales force, and more.

Who Should Enter:
The Golden Cylinder Awards Competition is open to all GAAmericas' members and non-members. All entries must have been produced during the 2017 calendar year and must use the gravure process. Entries must be production units against an order, except for the supplier innovation category. The entrant must designate the Golden Cylinder Award Category for which they are entering, subject to final review by the GAAmericas Golden Cylinder Awards Committee. Entrants will be notified of any changes in their category. Entries in the supplier innovation category must include complete description and supporting evidence of the technical innovation, including a factual statement of support from one or more customers or users.

Entry Requirements:
Each entry must be accompanied by its own entry form and entry fee. An item may be entered in more than one category, but an additional entry form must be completed and the appropriate entry fee must be included. Entries using common graphics or a theme throughout a product line may be entered individually or as a family (i.e., one entry consisting of a group of pieces). Families are limited to five pieces.

Judges are selected from professionals of recognized knowledge, experience, and reputation in the gravure industry, including but not limited to designers, educators, and publishers.

More Information:
If you have any questions regarding the Golden Cylinder Awards please contact Pamela Schenk.
Tel: 201.523.6042
Fax: 201.523.6048
email: [email protected]

A Special Thanks to the 2017 Judges!

(L-R Seated) Todd Luman, Interprint, Inc.; Reba Meek, delfort Group (L-R Standing) Kevin McNally, Bobst North America; Scott Thrift, Altria Group, Inc.; Clayton Burneston, National Geographic Society; Hubert Metzger, Chema Technology, Inc.; Chiawei Wu, Packaging Corporation of America; Johnny Stamey, Max Daetwyler Corporation.

If you are interested in becoming a Golden Cylinder Awards judge, please contact Pamela Schenk ([email protected]).

Recent and Past Winners:
Click to view past Golden Cylinder Award winners »